Full List Know your leadership of the 7th parliament

The NPP secured 171 seats as against the 104 secured by the NDC in the December 7, 2016 election.

  • Published:
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Majority and Minority leaders in Parliament for the Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana have been nominated and endorsed by Members of Parliament (MPs).

The Seventh Parliament would be constituted today [Friday] January 6, 2017, ahead of the official swearing-in of President-elect Nana Akufo-Addo, on Saturday, January 7, 2017.

The NPP secured 171 seats as against the 104 secured by the NDC in the December 2016 election.

Read more: Mike Oquaye is next Speaker of Parliament

President-elect Nana Akufo-Addo in consultation with the Council of Elders of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has nominated former Member of Parliament for Dome-Kwabenya, Prof. Mike Aaron Oquaye as the next Speaker of Parliament.

For a candidate to emerge as Speaker, he or she must have been elected by members of the House or persons who are qualified to be elected as a member of Parliament.

Read also: I will not embarrass Nana Addo - Dep. Chief of Staff

This is the full list of the new leadership in Parliament:

Speaker: Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye

Mike Oquaye served as the Second Deputy Speaker of Ghana’s Parliament between 2009 and 2013. He also was Member of Parliament for Dome-Kwabenya constituency, a strong hold of the NPP, from 2005 to 2013.

From 2001 to 2004, Oquaye served as Ghana’s High Commissioner to India. In February 2005 he became Minister of Energy, and later he was moved to the post of Minister of Communications.

Read more: I have utmost respect for Nana Addo - Mahama

Mike Oquaye is a professor of Political science at the University of Ghana, (Legon), and was previously the Head of the Department of Political Science and member of the University’s Academic Board, the highest authority at the level of the faculties.

He received his Ph.D from School of Oriental and African Studies in London, as well as winning the Rockefeller Senior Scholar Award in 1993 and the Senior Fulbright Scholar Award in 1997.


First Deputy Speaker: Mr Joseph Osei Owusu

Member of Parliament for Bekwai in the Ashanti region, Mr Joe Osei-Owusu has also been proposed as the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Read more: Nana Addo names Frema Osei Opare as Ghana's first female Chief of Staff

Mr Osei-Owusu in a radio interview said, "I must say that the discussion has gone on for some time now, it’s been back and forth. Very senior members actually talked me into coming into that position."


Second Deputy Speaker: Mr Alban Bagbin

On the side of the Minority, Mr Alban Sumana Bagbin, MP for Nadowli/Kaleo has been proposed as the Second Deputy Speaker.

Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin play

Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin


Majority Leader and Deputy: Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu

The Majority side has also selected Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Member of Parliament for Suame as the Majority Leader whiles Sarah Adwoa Sarfo, Member of Parliament for Dome Kwabenya in Greater Accra is the Deputy Minority Leader.


Read also: Adwoa Safo named Deputy Majority Leader

Majority Whip: Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh

Minority Leader: Haruna Iddrisu

Mr Haruna Iddrisu, the outgoing Minister of Employment and Labour Relations, has served on a number of committees in Parliament including the Appointments Committee, the Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Committee, as well as the Judicial Committee.

Haruna Iddrisu play

Haruna Iddrisu


Deputy Minority Leader: James Klutse Avedzi

Mr Avedzi is Member of Parliament for Ketu North. He is a Chartered Accountant and has served in Parliament for 12 years. He is the Chairman of the Finance Committee of Parliament.

Read more: I'm tough enough to handle the task - Frema Opare

Minority Chief Whip: Mohammed Muntaka


Deputy Minority Chief Whip:

  1. Ahmed Ibrahim, Member of Parliament for Banda, Ahmed Ibrahim,

  2. Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, Member of Parliament for Ada East


Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Ghana?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +233507713497, Social Media @pulseghana: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh.

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos

Top Articles

1 John Mahama Zimbabweans attack Mahama after his 'hero' praise for Mugabebullet
2 Politics Ghana must offer Mugabe asylum - Okudzeto Ablawkabullet
3 Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu Mugabe is a 'disgrace' - Majority Leaderbullet
4 In Zimbabwe Mugabe's ending is sad, Mahama saysbullet
5 Elections In Ghana Money does not win elections - Kwabena Donkorbullet
6 In Parliament Minister kicked out of Parliamentbullet
7 2018 Budget 'Azonto' budget had no message; it only got...bullet
8 Zimbabwe Matters Deal with crisis through 2018 elections -...bullet
9 Confusion NPP suspends four members over School Feeding...bullet
10 Inspiration Bawumia praises Mahama for this one reasonbullet

Top Videos

1 Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe resigns as president of Zimbabwebullet
2 Video Captain Smart CRIES over KABA’s deathbullet
3 No Appointment I'm ready to sweep the Flagstaff House for a fee -...bullet
4 Elections 2020 I'm ready to be the next President of Ghana –...bullet
5 Politics Ghana must offer Mugabe asylum - Okudzeto Ablawkabullet
6 Parliamentary Bribery Saga Opoku Prempeh insulted me – Suhuyinibullet
7 Video Ken Agyapong vows to commit suicide if Mahama is not...bullet
8 Watch Video NPP bigwigs danced at Cape Coast delegates...bullet
9 Video Ex-president John Mahama preaches at Assemblies of...bullet
10 Video Appiah Stadium warns Mahama against his close...bullet