Meet the African artists featured on Beyonce's new ‘The Lion King’ album

The tracklist for the 'The Lion King: The Gift' has been revealed ahead of the film's release on Friday, July 19, 2019. 

Beyoncé has revealed the track list for her Lion King-inspired album (Kwaku Alston for Disney)

The 14-song album features original Beyoncé tracks and collaborations with other artists.

Those featured include her husband JAY-Z, Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino, and Pharrell.

There are also African acts who feature on specific tracks on the album.

The album has been described as being influenced by the sounds of Africa.

Beyonce said in a statement said the collaborations with African musicians were important because the film is set in Africa and “authenticity and heart were important to [her].”

“This is a new experience of storytelling. I wanted to do more than find a collection of songs that were inspired by the film. It is a mixture of genres and collaboration that isn’t one sound. It is influenced by everything from R&B, pop, hip hop, and Afro Beat.”

“I wanted to put everyone on their own journey to link the storyline,” she continued. “Each song was written to reflect the film’s storytelling that gives the listener a chance to imagine their own imagery while listening to a new contemporary interpretation. It was important that the music was not only performed by the most interesting and talented artists but also produced by the best African producers. Authenticity and heart were important to me.”

Here are the 9 African artists featured on the album.

1. Shatta Wale

2. Yemi Alade 

3. Tiwa Savage

4. Busiswa

5. Mr Eazi 

6. Tekno

7. Moonchild Sanelly 

8. Burna Boy 

9. Wizkid


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: