Nigeria beats South Africa to win AWCON for the 9th time

The Super Falcons of Nigeria has won the AWCON this year to emerge the 9th Champion since the start of the tournament.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria

The Nigerians beat their South African counterparts 1-0 in the final of the tournament in Accra, the capital of Ghana, on Saturday, December 1.

Although the two teams had some chances in the beginning of the game, neither side could get the goal.

The game then stretched from the normal 90 minutes of playtime into extra times, and then penalties.


This was the first time in history of the competition that the game went into penalties.

In the opening of the tournament, Nigeria lost their first game to South Africa. This therefore made Bayana Bayana come into the final with a lot of confidence hoping that, the game would go to favour them.

Whiles playing the penalties, Nigeria missed their first spot-kick but South Africa missed two to give the Super Falcons a 4-3 win.

The Nigerians has hence, had their third consecutive win in the AWCON tournament and their ninth win in 10 AWCON titles since the start of the tournament.

Super Falcons’ Ordega was named Woman of the Match while South African forward Thembi Kgatlhane was adjudged the Woman of the Competition.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: