Ronaldo wins UEFA Player of the Year

The Real Madrid ace has been voted as the finest player in Europe after helping Real Madrid win the UEFA Champions League and La Liga

Ronaldo helped Real to a second consecutive Champions League title and finished as the tournament's top scorer with 12 goals last season.

He has now won the award three times, one more than Messi.

The three-player shortlist was chosen by a panel of 80 coaches of clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2016/17 Champions League and Europa League and 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA's member associations.

UEFA's Top Ten players:1: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

2: Leo Messi (Barcelona)

3: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

4: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

5: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

6: Paulo Dybala (Juventus)

7: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

8: Kylian Mbappé (Monaco)

9: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

10: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: