Kunle Afolayan, 'October 1', Rita Dominic win big!

kunle Afolayan, Rita Dominic, 'October 1' and more win big in the 2015 AMVCA. check out full list of winners.

The prestigious Africa Magic Viewers' Choice Awards (AMVCA) took place on Saturday, March 7, 2015 at Eko Hotel Convention Centre.

The event which was transmitted live on Africa Magic stations via DSTV, saw Kunle Afolayan walk away with the biggest awards of the night thanks to his 'October 1' movie which won 9 awards!

OC Ukeje won the 'Best Actor' award while Kehinde Bankole was the recipient of the 'Best Actress' prize. Best supporting actor and actress went to Blossom Chukwujekwu and Linda Ejiofor respectively.

Another big winner of the night was Rita Dominic and Mildred Okwo's 'The Meeting' which won the 'Best Movie (Comedy)' and spun awards for Femi Jacobs (Best Actor in Comedy) and Rita Dominic (Best Actress in Comedy).


There were music performances from The Mavin Crew, Diamond Platinumz and comedic theatrics from Basketmouth and Eddie Kadi.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Movie: October 1 - Kunle Afolayan

Best Movie (Comedy): The Meeting

Best Movie (Drama): A place in the Stars - Steve Gukas


Best Actor in a Drama: OC Ukeje - Secret Room

Best Actress in a Drama: Kehinde Bankole - October 1

Best Supporting Actor: Blossom Chukwujekwu - Knocking on Heaven's Door

Best Supporting Actress: Linda Ejiofor - The Meeting

Best Actor in a Comedy: Femi Jacobs - The Meeting


Best Actress in a Comedy: Rita Dominic - The Meeting

Best Movie Director: Kunle Afolayan - October 1

Best Art Director (Movie/TV): Pat Nebo - October 1

Best Cinematographer (MOVIE/TV): Stanlee Ohikhuare - Verdict

Best Drama Writer (Movie/TV): Tunde Babalola - October 1


Best Comedy Writer (Movie/TV): Tunde Babalola - The Meeting

Best Costume Designer (Movie/TV): Deola Sagoe/Obijei Oru - October 1

Best Documentary: The Gift to the Nile -Yvonne Bassey

Best Lighting Designer: Lanre Omofaye - October 1

Best Indigenous Language - Hausa: Bincike - Hafizu Bello/Abubakar Bashir


Best Indigenous Language - Yoruba: Iya Alalake - Faithia  Balogun

Best Indigenous Language - Igbo: Onye Ozi (The Messenger) - Obi Emelonye

Best Indigenous Language - SWAHILI: Veve - Srika Hemi Lakhani

Best Make-Up Artist: Sacred by Lola Maja:  October 1

Best New Media - Online: Hard Times - Imoh Umoren


Best Sound Editing: October 1 - Kulanen Ikyo

Best Video Editor: Victoria Akujobi - Reflections

Best Television Series: Shuga

Best Short Film: Oblivious - Kiki Omeili

New Era Award: Ayo Makun (AY) - 30 Days in Atlanta


Industry Merit Award: Amaka Igwe


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: