He becomes the second Ghanaian musician to be nominated for this year’s award ceremony. Kwesi Arthur, a Tema-based Ghanaian hip-hop star, was listed in the first batch of the nomination list.

Shatta Wale’s appearance on Beyonce’s track “Already” – which also features Major Lazer – was given a nod in the “Best Collaboration” category. The song competes with Burna Boy and Chris Martin’s “Monsters You Made”, Innoss'B’s “Yope” remix featuring Diamond Platnumz, Master KG’s “Jerusalema” remix featuring Burna Boy and Nomcebo, Wizkid’s “Smile” featuring H.E.R and Yemi Alade’s “Shekere” featuring Angelique Kidjo.

He also earned a nomination in the “Best Fan-Base Award” category with his Shatta Movement Family and would compete with Naira Marley, Eddy Kenzo, Wizkid, Fally Ipupa, Diamond Platnumz, Cassper Nyovest and other top African stars for the award.

The award show will be held in Kampala, Uganda this year.

See below the nominees list:

Best Female

Simi (Nigeria)

Sheebah (Uganda)

Sho Madjozi (South Africa)

Busiswa (South Africa)

Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Male

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Innoss'B (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Kabza De Small (South Africa)

Harmonize (Tanzania)

Fireboy DML (Nigeria)

Master KG (South Africa)

Rema (Nigeria)

Best Group

Blaq Diamond (South Africa)

Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Kabza De Small / DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)

Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)

Ethic (Kenya)

Rostam (Tanzania)

Artist of the Year

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Master KG (South Africa)

Davido (Nigeria)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Breakthrough Act

Elaine (South Africa)

Tems (Nigeria)

Omah Lay (Nigeria)

Zuchu (Tanzania)

John Blaq (Uganda)

Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)

Focalistic (South Africa)

Best Hip Hop

Nasty C (South Africa)

Suspect 95 (Cote d'Ivoire)

Khaligraph Jones (Kenya)

Kwesi Arthur (Ghana)

NGA (Angola)

OMG (Senegal)

Best Ugandan Act


Bebe Cool

John Blaq


Daddy Andre

Spice Diana

Best Lusophone Act

Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)

Preto Show (Angola)

Anna Joyce (Angola)

Mr Bow (Mozambique)

Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)

Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Francophone Act

Innoss'B (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Suspect 95 (Cote d'Ivoire)

Dip Doundou Guiss (Senegal)

Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Fally Ipupa (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Gaz Mawete (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Alone Together: Best Lockdown Performance

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) – Africa Day Benefit Concert

Black Motion (South Africa) – Red Bull Rendezvous

Niniola ft Busiswa (Nigeria / SA) – Africa Day Benefit Concert

Singuila (Congo) – DCDR Series

AKA (South Africa) – AKA TV

Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – Poverty (live session)

Best Collaboration

Beyonce - Already feat. Shatta Wale and Major Lazer

Burna Boy feat. Chris Martin - Monsters You Made

Innoss'B - Yope remix feat. Diamond Platnumz

Master KG - Jerusalema remix feat. Burna Boy and Nomcebo

Wizkid - Smile feat. H.E.R

Yemi Alade - Shekere feat. Angelique Kidjo

Best Fan-Base Award

Shatta Wale

Naira Marley

Eddy Kenzo


Fally Ipupa

Diamond Platnumz

Cassper Nyovest

Serge Beynaud


Nadia Mukami

Best Alternative

Adekunle Gold



Ami Faku



Best International Act




DJ Khaled

Megan Thee Stallion

The Weeknd

Song of the Year

MFR Souls - Amanikiniki ft. Major League Djz, Kamo Mphela & Bontle Smith

Simi - Duduke

Davido - Fem

Diamond Platnumz - Jeje

Master KG - Jerusalema remix feat. Nomcebo

Mapara A Jazz - John Vuli Gate feat. Colano, Ntosh Gazi

Burna Boy feat. Chris Martin - Monsters You Made

B2C - Munda Awo

DJ Neptune - Nobody feat. Joeboy & Mr Eazi