It has been a strong defence of the Super Bowl title by the New England Patriots, who count seven players on the roster, as do the Arizona Cardinals and Seattle Seahawks.

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, who leads the NFL with 4,405 passing yards and 35 touchdowns, received the most votes followed by Panthers quarterback and MVP favourite Cam Newton.

Newton has thrown for 3,402 yards and 33 touchdowns and rushed for 580 yards and seven scorer.

Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis was selected to the Pro Bowl for the first time in his 11-year NFL career.

"It's truly an honour to be selected to the Pro Bowl," Davis said. "All the hard work and dedication I've put into the game has paid off.

"I'm extremely excited and I couldn't be more thankful to the fans who took their time to vote me in, as well as my fellow players and coaches.   "To have 10 guys selected says a lot about our team. It says a lot about our fans and how highly they thought of us this season, and I think it says a lot about the way our season has gone. I'm excited and thankful to be part of the 10."

St. Louis Rams running back Todd Gurley, Seahawks wide receiver and return man Tyler Lockett and Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Marcus Peters were the three rookies selected.

The Indianapolis Colts, Chicago Bears, Jacksonville Jaguars, New Orleans Saints, San Diego Chargers and Tennessee Titans are not represented on the initial roster.

None of the Panthers or Patriots players selected will hope to be on the final roster. Those picked whose teams play in the Super Bowl will be replaced for the Pro Bowl, which will be played on January 31 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

The Pro Bowlers will be assigned to teams on January 27 during a draft led by NFL legends captains Jerry Rice and Michael Irvin, with the game set to be 'unconferenced' for the third straight year.

Full roster:

Quarterbacks: Tom Brady (New England Patriots), Cam Newton (Carolina Panthers), Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers), Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks) Ben Roethlisberger (Pittsburgh Steelers), Carson Palmer (Arizona Cardinals)

Running backs: Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings), Devonta Freeman (Atlanta Falcons), Jonathan Stewart (Carolina Panthers), Todd Gurley (St. Louis Rams) LeSean McCoy (Buffalo Bills), Doug Martin (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

Fullbacks: Mike Tolbert (Carolina Panthers) Marcel Reece (Oakland Raiders).

Wide receivers: Brandon Marshall (New York Jets), Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals), Julio Jones (Atlanta Falcons), Calvin Johnson (Detroit Lions), DeAndre Hopkins (Houston Texans), A.J. Green (Cincinnati Bengals) Antonio Brown (Pittsburgh Steelers), Odell Beckham Jr (New York Giants)

Tight ends: Greg Olsen (Carolina Panthers), Travis Kelce (Kansas City Chiefs), Rob Gronkowski (New England Patriots), Tyler Eifert (Cincinnati Bengals)

Offensive tackles: Jason Peters (Philadelphia Eagles), Tyron Smith (Dallas Cowboys), Joe Staley (San Francisco 49ers), Joe Thomas (Cleveland Browns), Andrew Whitworth (Cincinnati Bengals), Trent Williams (Washington Redskins)

Guard: David DeCastro (Pittsburgh Steelers), Mike Iupati (Arizona Cardinals), Zack Martin (Dallas Cowboys), Josh Sitton (Green Bay Packers), Trai Turner (Carolina Panthers), Marshal Yanda (Baltimore Ravens)

Centers: Travis Frederick (Dallas Cowboys), Ryan Kalil (Carolina Panthers), Alex Mack (Cleveland Browns), Mike Pouncey (Miami Dolphins)

Defensive ends: Ezekiel Ansah (Detroit Lions), Michael Bennett (Seattle Seahawks), Chandler Jones (New England Patriots), Khalil Mack (Oakland Raiders), J.J. Watt (Houston Texans), Muhammad Wilkerson (New York Jets)

Interior linemen: Geno Atkins (Cincinnati Bengals), Calais Campbell (Arizona Cardinals), Fletcher Cox (Philadelphia Eagles), Aaron Donald (St. Louis Rams), Gerald McCoy (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Kawann Short (Carolina Panthers)

Outside linebackers: Jamie Collins (New England Patriots), Thomas Davis (Carolina Panthers), Tamba Hali (Kansas City Chiefs),  Justin Houston (Kansas City Chiefs), Von Miller (Denver Broncos),  DeMarcus Ware (Denver Broncos)

Inside linebackers: NaVorro Bowman (San Francisco 49ers),  Luke Kuechly (Carolina Panthers), Clay Matthews (Green Bay Packers), Bobby Wagner (Seattle Seahawks)

Cornerbacks: Malcolm Butler (New England Patriots), Chris Harris (Denver Broncos), Josh Norman (Carolina Panthers), Marcus Peters (Kansas City Chiefs), Patrick Peterson (Arizona Cardinals), Darrelle Revis (New York Jets), Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks), Aqib Talib (Denver Broncos)

Free safeties: Tyrann Mathieu (Arizona Cardinals), Reggie Nelson (Cincinnati Bengals) Earl Thomas (Seattle Seahawks)

Strong safeties: Eric Berry (Kansas City Chiefs), Kam Chancellor (Seattle Seahawks), Charles Woodson (Oakland Raiders)

Kickers: Stephen Gostkowski (New England Patriots), Dan Bailey (Dallas Cowboys)

Punters: Sam Koch (Baltimore Ravens), Johnny Hekker (St. Louis Rams)

Return specialists: Darren Sproles (Philadelphia Eagles), Tyler Lockett (Seattle Seahawks)

Special teamers: Matthew Slater (New England Patriots) Justin Bethel (Arizona Cardinals).