5 top NDC MPs who won't return to Parliament in 2020

The biggest opposition party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC), last week, opened nominations for its parliamentary primaries across the 275 constituencies across the country.

Alban Bagbin and Fiifi Kwetey

The nominations which spanned two days attracted a fee of GHS 2000 for each contestant.

Though filings have been slated for July 18 and 19, exciting and new names have popped up across different constituencies for the NDC.

However, the nominations have also revealed that some veterans and popular faces of the party in the legislature won't return in 2020.

We, therefore, compiled a list of some of these top Members of Parliament in the NDC that have failed to pick nomination forms for a possible return to Parliament.


Alban Bagbin: Being the most experienced member of Parliament among the 275 lawmakers, the Nadowli-Kaleo MP has decided not to seek re-election when his current term expires in 2021.

Though he is yet to state his official reason for bowing out, experts believe Alban Bagbin is going out due to his long stay in the house.

The 62-year old Babgin was first elected to Parliament at the start of the 4th Republic in 1993.

He became the Majority Leader in the Ghanaian parliament in 2009. Following a cabinet reshuffle in January 2010, he was appointed Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing by President Mills. 


He has also been confirmed as Majority Leader of Parliament under President Mahama's tenure of office, he succeeded Dr Benjamin Kunbuor who was appointed as the Minister of Defense.

Fiifi Kwetey: The Ketu South Member of Parliament's inability to pick a nomination form before its deadline last Friday has come as a shock to many political pundits in the country.

The former deputy Minister of Finance has been one of the vocal lawmakers of the NDC since he elected in 2008.

The former propaganda secretary of the NDC hasn't stated his official reasons for bowing out after just two terms in Parliament but it is estimated that he will play a key role in the NDC's quest to win the 2020 general elections.


Fiifi Kwetey is infamously known for stating in 2007, during an interaction with US embassy officials that "in no uncertain terms that a Muslim can never become the President of the Republic of Ghana".

Nii Laryea Afote-Agbo: The former Greater Accra Regional Minister will seek re-election in the upcoming parliamentary primaries of the NDC.

However, for Afotey-Agbo, the reason for bowing out of Parliament is well known among most political enthusiasts in the country.

The member of Parliament for the Kpone Katamanso Constituency, Nii Laryea Afotey Agbo has been inducted into the Nungua Traditional Council as the regent of Katamanso in the Greater Accra region.


Nii Laryea was installed as regent of Katamanso earlier this year when the elders of the Katamanso stool picked him as a care taker chief to steer the affairs of the area due to the ill health of the current chief Nii Otu Akwetey.

The NDC MP successfully went through all the necessary customary rites to enable him act legally on behalf of the ailing chief.

Inusah Fuseini: Alhaji Inusah Fuseini was one of the most recognizable faces of the Mills-Mahama administration from 2008 to 2016.


Inusah Fuseini became a Member of Parliament when Wayo Seini defected from the NDC to the New Patriotic Party. This triggered a by-election in the Tamale Central constituency on 4 April 2006. Fuseini Inusah, won the election with a majority of 17,502.

He successfully held his seat in the Ghanaian general election in December 2008 with 66% of the votes cast. He again retained his seat in the Ghanaian general election in December 2012.

Richard Quashigah: The Member of Parliament for Keta's decision not to contest for re-election in the 2020 general elections comes as a surprise.

This is due to the fact that he is just serving his second term and law makers are known for the longevity in the legislature.


Though the former communication lecturer has not stated his reasons for stepping aside, it is believed that this decision is due to the support he gave to Professor Joshua Alabi as opposed to the favourite, John Mahama during the presidential primaries of the NDC earlier this year.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: