Paul Afoko, Kwabena Agyapong, Wereko-Brobbey, et al face 10 years ban

According to the NPP MPs, the executives can only return to the party after serving the ban

According to the MPs, the executives can only return to the party after serving the ban.

In a summary of proposals submitted to NPP members during its annual delegates at the National Delegates Conference rally in Cape Coast on Saturday, it said "We want amendment of Article 3 that deals with expulsion and forfeiture of membership. The caucus wants affected members to serve 8 and 10 years respectively, before readmitted."


The party’s former executives such as Chairman Paul Afoko, General Secretary Kwabena Agyapong, vice National Chairman Sammy Crabbe were suspended over some comments inimical to the party.

Paul Afoko suspended

The NPP’s National Executive Committee (NEC) has unanimously voted to suspend its National Chairman Paul Afoko indefinitely.

The NEC upheld the overwhelming decision by the Disciplinary Committee which decided that Mr Afoko be suspended.

The Disciplinary Committee took the decision first, after the National Council of Elders in September, wrote to it, demanding amongst others, that the National Chairman Paul Afoko, be made to step aside until after 2016 elections.


Kwabena Agyapong and Sammy Crabbe suspended

The disciplinary committee took the decision after Kwabena Agyepong was petitioned by some members of the party for what they describe as gross disrespect and misconduct.

The National Executive Committee of the party in a meeting Thursday, December 10, 2015 to deliberate over the Disciplinary Committee’s recommendations regarding the two suspended Sammy Crabbe and Kwabena Agyepong.


Kwabena Agyepong had earlier faced the Disciplinary Committee of the party over a petition filed and actions to be taken against him.

But Mr Crabbe refused to honour the invitation of the committee because the acting national chairman, Mr Freddie Blay has no locus to sanction him following the suspension of Mr Paul Afoko as national chairman.

According to him, the National Council is the only and proper party organ that can hear a complaint against a member of the party’s National Executive Committee.

NPP suspends Wereko-Brobbey


The suspension of Dr Wereko-Brobby, popularly known as ‘Tarzan’, was approved by the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party at its meeting last Friday.

The NPP has suspended Dr Charles Wereko-Brobbey, a founder member, from the party after it had absorbed months of spiralling criticisms from him.

Although a founder member of the NPP, Dr Wereko-Brobbey has been a strong and fearless critic of the party since its birth in 1992.

Following some internal party disagreement, he parted company with the NPP to form the United Ghana Movement (UGM), whose flag he bore to contest the general election in 1996.


But after his unsuccessful bid, he returned to the fold of the NPP and maintained his critical stance on pertinent party issues.

Nyaho Nyaho Tamakloe suspended

The decision by the NPP to suspend Dr Tamakloe was taken by the Regional Chairman of the party Ishmael Ashitey following a petition brought before the party by a member in the Ayawaso Constituency.

Dr Tamakloe is alleged to have attacked the party's flagbearer of not doing enough to resolve the crisis in the party which has led to the suspension of three national officers including the Chairman, Paul Afoko and General Secretary Kwabena Agyepong.

The petition was filed at the national office but checks by Joy News' Kwakye Afreh Nuamah indicate the petition was sent to the Greater Accra branch of the party to consider the petition and take appropriate measures.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: