President Nana Akufo-Addo has appointed 11 persons to the Council of State in accordance with Article(2) (d) of the constitution.


The eight others include: the Jaubenhene Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II, Mrs. Alberta Cudjoe, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr. Margaret Amoakohene, Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar, Mrs. Georgina Kusi, Alhaji Sule Yiremiah and Mr. Paa Kofi Ansong.

The Council of State must also include a former Chief Justice, a former Chief of the Defence Staff and a former Inspector General of Police and the President of the National House of Chiefs.

President Akufo-Addo has therefore appointed General J.B. Danquah, a former Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a former Inspector General of Police, to the Council pending approval from parliament.


The President of the National House of Chiefs, Togbe Afede XIV, is also an ex-officio a member of the Council.

Currently, there is no living former Chief Justice, thus the president was unable to propose a name for the approval of Parliament.

The composition of the Council of State will be completed with the election of the regional representatives, scheduled to come off on Thursday, February 16.

The Council of State is mandated to advise the President in the performance of his functions.