Parliament vets ministerial nominees for new regions today

All eyes will be on Parliament today as the Appointments Committee begins the vetting of four nominees for ministerial positions for the six new regions.

Appointments Committee of Parliament

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo nominated them to fill the new vacancies created.

Appearing on the first day, March 14, are Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Minister-designate of Western Region; Solomon Namliit Boar, Minister-designate of North East Region; Kofi Amoakohene, Minister-designate of Bono East Region; and Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, Minister-designate of Western North Region.

The appointments committee will vet Gomoa West MP, Alex Kodwo Kom Abban, who has been named a deputy Health Minister.


The vetting is "in accordance with the Standing Orders of Parliament".

The committee members will also solicit answers from the nominees in relation to the policy direction they will be proffering for the newly created regions.

After the vetting, the committee will write a report to Parliament, recommending by consensus or a majority decision for a nominee to be approved or rejected by the House.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: