Dr. Edward Mahama has been elected as the flagbeaer for the People's National Convention for the 2016 lections.

He beat his close contender Hassan Ayariga who was the the party's presidential candidate for the 2012 election.

PNC went to the polls on Saturday to elect a flagbearer  and party executives ahead of the 2016 general elections.

Dr. Mahama polled had 492 votes whilst  Hassan Ayariga polled 426 votes.

Dr. Mahama was the PNC flagbearer in the 1996 presidential election through to 2008 after which Hassan Ayariga took over in 2012.

Critics say the PNC may have brough Dr. Maahama back to restore the pary's serious image which was deemed dented by  the last candidate Hassan Ayariga. Some are of the view that he was over jovial with going into the 2012 election.

The PNC’s General Secretary, Bernard Mornah has also been elected as the party’s Chairman. Prior to the election, He had been accused to of refusing to pay his nomination fee on the stipulated deadline.

Bernard Mornah faced stiff opposition from some of the aspirants  who took him to court to be disqualified.

Below is the full results from the election:


Bernard Mornaah 701

2. David Apasara 152

Abubakari Sadiq 50

Presidential candidate

Edward Mahama 492 2.

Hassa Ayariga 426


1. Henry Haruna 310

2. Michael Womigo16

3. Hajia Ali Musah 272

General Secretary:

Atik Mohammed 518

Emmanuel will son 398

National Organiser :

Abu Ramadan 383

Desmond Twimasi Nto 576

National Treasurer:

Akane Adams 540

Mohammed Haruna 251

Kana Ibrahim 71

Benjamin Bediaku 19

David Kadimu 32

National women’s organiser:

Janet Nabla 514

Elizabeth Amadikanya 385

National Youth Organiser:

Mark Ewusi Aku 252

Issahaku Awudulai 339

Alidu Mohammed Nazirudeen 222

Urine T. K Bashiru 93.