The new Ghana map after referendum [Photo]

The six proposed new regions for the referenda are Oti, Bono East, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah and North East.

Map of Ghana after referendum

The Electoral Commission (EC) will hold a referendum today, December 27, 2018 to determine the creation of the proposed new regions as recommended by the Brobbey Commission of Inquiry.

The Constitution requires that 50% of all eligible voters turn out to vote on the day with YES votes constituting 80% of votes cast and therefore appealed to residents to ensure relations who have travelled are encouraged to return for the historic vote.

However, not everybody is enthused by the government’s road map for the creation of the new regions which could bring to 16, Ghana’s administrative regions.

Hundreds in the Volta region marched in March 2018 against the division of Volta region to create the proposed Oti region.


They have rejected the claim that the division will accelerate stalled development in the new regions. The opponents have demanded decentralisation, which is government giving more political power to metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies to forster development.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: