Pulse.com.gh logo

Bolga All Stars List of Ghanaian topflight clubs who changed their names

Pulse Sports produces list of Ghanaian topflight outfit that have undergone change of name over the years

  • Published:
play List of Ghanaian topflight clubs to be renamed

Bolga All Stars is the latest topflight club in Ghana to be rechristened and Pulse Sports has a recap of clubs that have changed their names in the first tier of Ghanaian football.

In 1968, Brong Ahafo Stars was renamed Bofoakwa and they became the first Ghanaian topflight to have their name changed.

Defence Stars which was owned by the Ghana Armed Forces was renamed SS 74 in 1976.

Obuasi Goldfields FC, the first club to win the Ghana Premier League three consecutive times was renamed Obuasi Ashanti Gold (AshGold) in 2003, after Anglogold bought the Obuasi Gold concession.

READ MORE:Why Kwesi Appiah will be appointed as next Black Black Stars coach

Zaytuna was renamed Sporting Mirren in 2008 with B.A. Stars was being rechristened Bechem United in 2012.

In 2011, Kessben FC was renamed Medeama FC and relocated from Abrankese near Kumasi to Tarkwa in the Western region.

Feyenoord Academy, the academy side was rebranded as West African Football Academy (WAFA) in 2014.

The newest side set to be renamed is Bolga All Stars, after it was reported that Nana Ameyaw, the traditional chief of Techiman reached agreement to take over the side and relocate it to Brong Ahafo.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Ghana?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +233507713497, Social Media @pulseghana: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh.

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos