FIFA has shortlisted Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann for the 2016 FIFA Player of the Year.

The list of 23 names has been trimmed down to the elite trio after voting by captains and coaches of national teams, select members of the media and fans voting on, with the winner to be crowned at the ceremony on 9 January in Zurich.

Read more: Plane Crash

Cristiano Ronaldo is seen as the favourite to lift the prestigious award after guiding Real Madrid to UEFA Champions League glory and Portugal to their first ever UEFA European Championship title.

Lionel Messi, who won the La Liga and Copa Del Rey titles with FC Barcelona, but lost the Copa America final with his national team, has won the award a record-breaking five times (four FIFA Ballons d'Or in addition to his FIFA World Player of the Year title in 2009).

Read more:Black Stars

The Atletico Madrid striker, Antoine Griezmann lost both the Champions League and Euro finals this, but was named Player of the Tournament at the European Championship, and also claimed the Euro Golden Boot award.