Dogboe, Partey to battle for SWAG Sports Personality of the Year

Ghanaian boxer Isaac Dogboe and Black Stars midfielder will go head to head for the MTN SWAG Sports Personality of the Year.

Partey and Dogboe

Isaac Dogboe lifted the flag of Ghana high when he claimed the World Boxing Organisation (WBO) super bantamweight champion in the middle of last year.

However, he was dethroned by Mexican boxer Emmanuel Navarette in the latter part of 2018, but his remarkable feat of winning the nation a world title will make him a key contender for the ultimate gong for the year.

Dogboe will face opposition from Thomas Partey who excelled in the year under review for both the Black Stars and Spanish giants Atletico Madrid.


Partey helped the Black Stars to qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations to be held this year and also played a key role as Atletico Madrid won the UEFA Europa League and also finished second in the La Liga ahead of Real Madrid.

Partey will come face to face against four others, namely John Antwi, a loanee from Egyptian club Al Ahly; Kotoko goalie Felix Annan, Kassim Nuhu of German club, Hoffenheim, and Joseph Aidoo of Genk in the Belgian First Division for the Male Footballer of the Year award.

Mukarama Abdulai is the favourite for the Female Footballer of the Year, following his prowess at the U-17 Women’s World Cup staged in Uruguay- he won the top scorer of the tournament with seven goals.

She has been nominated alongside Black Queens defender Faustina Ampah and Black Princesses’ sensation Grace Asantewaa.

The list of the over 40 nominees who are to be honoured in their various disciplines has been released.


Below is the full list of awards for 2018

Coach of the Year

Ebenezer Frimpong of the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA)- Hockey

 Boakye Danquah (Exchequers)-Hockey

Richmond Attipoe (Exchequers)- Hockey


National Team of the Year

 The Ghana Rugby Men’s team, The Ghana Eagles

National Wrestling Team, The Golden Arms.

President of the Year

The president of the Ghana Armwrestling Association, Charles Osei Assibey,


Evans Kojo Yeboah, president of the Ghana Badminton

Boxer of the Year

Richard Oblitey Commey

 Isaac Dogboe

Athlete of the Year


Janet Amponsah

 Jesse Lartey

Table Tennis Player of the Year

Derek Abrefa (Male)

Celia Baah Danso (Female)


Armwrester of the Year

Alberta Ampomah (Male)

 Haruna Tahiru (Female)

Rugby Player of the Year

Michael Arko (Male)


 Rafatu Inusah (Female)


Frederick Assor and Haruna Tahiru


 Kojo Barni


Prospect of the Year

Hor Halutie (Female athlete)

Dedication and Valour.

Samuel Akayade Dennis Ababio

Promoter of the Year


Boxing promotion outfit, Cabic Promotions

Special awards for individuals, corporate entities and persons

 Binatone Ghana Limited,

Greater Accra Handball Association

 kickboxer Jonathan Euro.


Casely Hayford Hall

Ghana Revenue Authority

Akwasi Frimpong

Kofikrom Pharmacy and Albert K Frimpong.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: