CAF African Player of the Year Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Yaya Toure were the players cut down from the five-man shortlist following voting from fans across the world.

READ ALSO: Kevin Prince Boateng regrets for wasting monies in the past

Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez or Senegal’s Sadio Mane will be crowned BBC African Footballer of the Year 2016 on Monday.

The winner will be announced in a live broadcast on BBC Focus on Africa TV, radio and online from 17:45 GMT.