Awards 8 Ghanaian women honoured at the Ghana Women of The Year Honours 2017

Publishers of the Glitz Magazine, yesterday held its second annual Ghana Women of the Year Honours at the State Bouquet Hall in Accra which saw the crème de la crème of Ghana’s socialites in attendance.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Publishers of the Glitz Magazine organised the second annual Ghana Women of the Year Honours at the State Bouquet Hall in Accra which saw the crème de la crème of Ghana’s socialites in attendance.

The awards scheme which started last year is an initiative which seeks to celebrate outstanding women who in their own ways and expertise use their positions and influences to make a difference in the society and also inspire others to improve their wellbeing and lifestyle.

Ghana Women of the Year initiative also supports maternal health in Ghana by creating awareness. The main event was preceded by two other events which sought to empower women. It began with The “She Summit” which was held on the 11th and 12th of May at the Swiss Spread, Alisa Hotel, North Ridge at 9 am each day.

Speakers at the summit included Madam Charlotte Osei, Chairperson, Electoral Commission, Madam Esther Cobbah of Strat Communications, Comfort A. Sakoma, a Business Development Strategist from Nigeria, Shirley Frimpong- Manso of Sparrow Productions and many other distinguished ladies. 

On Saturday 13th May, the day started off at 5:30 am with a walk to amplify Maternal Health Awareness at the Efua Sutherland Children's Park and ended with an with the awards gala at the Banquet Hall, State House at 7 pm.

The Special Guest of Honour Her Excellency, Rebecca AkufoAddo, First Lady of Ghana was absent from the event. Renowned Radio presenter, Doreen Andoh was the host of the show which saw performances from Faith Bekoe, Adina, Stephanie Benson, Irene Logan and MzVee.

This honorary scheme is governed by a selection of astute achievers who function as a board. They include Lucy Quist, Kwami Sefa Kayi, Ken Ashigbey, Charles Mensah, Nana Bediatuo, Ruddy Kwakye, Kojo Yankson, Kojo Poku and Claudia Lumor. They went through extensive research to come up with the honorees for the various categories.

See the full list of award-winners

Prof Dr Afua A. J. Hesse               – Excellence in Health

Dr Theresa Oppong-Beeko          – Excellence in Business

Dzifa Bampoh                                  – Excellence in Media

Eugenia Tachie-Menson                  – Activist

Shirley Frimpong-Manso                – Excellence in Arts and Entertainment

Joyce Ababio                                     – Fashion Force

Wiyaala                                               – Young and Gifted

Hon. Francisca Oteng-Mensah     – Trailblazer

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Ghana?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +233507713497, Social Media @pulseghana: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email:

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos

Top Articles

1 Luxurious Residential Here's how much you'd have to pay to get an...bullet
2 Pulse List 5 industrious female celebrities in Ghanabullet
3 Men's Appetiser? 6 reasons why Ghanaian men love breastbullet
4 Jessica Bema Asare Meet the student making fortune from selling...bullet
5 Taking Naked Photos The psychology behind nude photosbullet
6 Yahya Jammeh Meet Gambia dictator’s wifebullet
7 Lifestyle Forget the Kumasi City Mall, here are 6 other...bullet
8 Photo Of Day Actress' daughter, Baby Lorde's recent photos...bullet
9 Fashion Meet the Ghanaian model who just landed her...bullet
10 Inauguration 2017 Kente craze at the 2017 inauguration...bullet

Top Videos

1 Lifestyle How to spot a fake Rolex watchbullet