Constituency Watch Klottey Korle; How the parties have fared in past elections

The NPP in the Klottey Korle constituency are faced with internal wrangling. Lawyer Philip Addison won the bid to represent the party.

  • Published:
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Apart from the 1992 parliamentary elections that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) boycotted and the Eagle party won, the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has had a field's day winning the Klottey Korle Constituency seat.

All other parliamentary elections in the constituency have been a tug-of-war between the two main political parties in the country.

Klottey Korle is one of the constituencies represented in Ghana's Parliament. The Korle Klottey constituency is located in the Greater Accra Region of Ghana.

The constituency houses suburbs like Osu, Adabraka, Ridge, Asylum Down among others. It hosts lots of government establishments, offices and entertainment hubs.

play Dr Zanetor Agyemang-Rawlings


The Klottey Korle constituency is also a hot-bed of political history, having seen plenty of controversy ahead of the December polls. The two main political parties in Ghana, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC), have a huge interest in the seat which is currently occupied by Nii Armah Ashietey of the NDC.

In 1992, Nathan Tetteh Mensah of the Eagle party won in the constituency. The late David Lamptey of the National Democratic Congress won in 1996.

In the year 2000, Nii Adu Daku Mante of the New Patriotic Party won the elections to represent the constituency.

Nii Armah Ashietey of the National Democratic Congress polled 30,633 representing 50.6% to win in 2008. Samuel J. Adjei Tawiah of the NPP had 28,011 representing 46.3%. Monica Naa Ayao Quarcoopome who represented the CPP polled 1,900 (3.1%).

In the 2012 elections,  Nii Armah Ashietey won again polling 36,122 (48.55%), Samuel J. Adjei Tawiah got 34,847 (46.83%),Leeford Kpakpo Quarshie an independent candidate polled 1,354 representing 1.82%, Chris Bonaparte of the PPP had 1,151 (1.55%),  Kabu Okai-davies of the CPP polled 408 (0.55%) Godwin Opare-addo an independent candidate also polled 327 (0.44%) and Charles Nii Otu Okunor of the NDP had 198 (0.27%).

play Lawyer Philip Addison


The NPP, which stood a good chance to annex the seat, dumped Nii Adjei Tawiah. During the NPP primary in 2015 the contest was between Valentino Nii Noi Nortey  and Philip Addison. Nii Noi won the first run but a court ruled that the election be re-run after Addision protested in court. Addison won the rerun becoming the parliamentary candidate for the NPP in Klottey Korle.

Nii Noi feeling betrayed by the party is now running as an independent candidate in the constituency.

play Nii Noi Nortey, Independent candidate


Ashietey on the other hand after losing the primary to Zanetor went to court to challenge the  legibility of Zanetor Rawlings as a registered voter but the court ruled in favour of Zanetor.

The constituency can be described as a swing one between the NPP and NDC  and it could be anyone's game in December.

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos