Constituency Watch Odododiodio constituency unpredictable

Nii Lantey is also quite appealing to the youth because of his sports background.

  • Published:
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

The Odododiodio constituency is one of the key constituencies to watch in the 2016 general election owing to the unpredictable nature of the voter population, which was over 73,000 in the previous election.

For one thing, since the country's adoption of the constitutional rule in 1992, the seat has been occupied by two parties, namely the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party, NPP.

Some key watchers of the constituency say it is a safe seat for the NDC. However, other political pundits think a cursory look at the voting pattern over the years has shown that the seat is likely to rotate among the NDC and the NPP.

play Nii Lante Vanderpuye, NDC candidate


That notwithstanding, the NPP is determined to capture at least seven seats in the region in the 2016 polls.

In the upcoming elections, the two front-runners in the race, NDC's Nii Lante Vanderpuije and NPP's Nii Lante Bannerman are starting on a clean slate but it appears Nii Lantey has a slight edge, given his incumbency advantage and the fact that his previous attempt in the year 2000 was aborted. Indeed, if billboards could win elections, Nii Lantey’s mega billboards are a standout, dwarfing others in the constituency.

Nii Lantey is also quite appealing to the youth because of his background in sports.

However, he faces an uphill task in his bid to retain the seat for the NDC. While his (Nii Lantey) opponent might have entered the race a ‘little’ unknown, the popularity of the NPP in the constituency could be the triumph card for the NPP man.

The NPP candidate, although relatively unknown because of his long exile abroad, will rely heavily on the strength of the party in the constituency to carry the day.

He is endearing himself to the heart of the electorate, particularly the Makola and Salaga traders with a pledge to rebuild the two trading centres to create more avenues for many of the constituents, who are unemployed, to trade.

A third candidate in the race, whose chances appear slim, is Mr Emmanuel Nii Ako Oddoye, who ironically carried the Convention People’s Party flag in 2008 parliamentary elections in the constituency. However, with his campaign mantra, that the electorate needs to give him a chance having tested the NPP and the NDC, the race in the constituency could go down the wire.

play Nii Lante Bannerman, NPP candidate



The first person to occupy the party’s seat in the first Parliament was Nii Okaidja Adamafio of the NDC.

In 1996, Nii Adamafio again went back to Parliament, riding on a little over 2,000 votes. He had dismissed a rather tough competitor, Mr Samuel A. Odoi Sykes, who later became the NPP’s National Chairman. While Nii Adamafio bagged 29,142 (35.40%), Mr Odoi-Sykes had 27,097(32.9%).

The remaining candidates-- Samuel Agoe Lantei Lamptey of the Peoples National Convention (PNC) polled 1,231(1.5%); Emmanuel Nii Korley Adu Tetteh, National Convention Party, managed 641(0.80%) and Nii Noi Nortey of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) had 528 (0.6%).

Reginald Niibi Ayibonte of NPP, riding on the message of change in 2000, grabbed the seat from the NDC, with Nii Adamafio polling 28,270 votes (51.40%) in that election.

While Nii Adamafio trailed with 24,181(43.9 %), Mrs Francisca Lamptey of the National Reform Party scored 1,289(2.3 %); the PNC’s Baba Imoro had 678 (1.2 %); David Kwarteboi Quartey of the CPP polled 461 (0.8 %) with Nii-Armah Tagoe of the United Ghana Movement taking the bottom spot with 171 (0.3 %).

However, in 2004, Niibi Ayibonte failed to secure the seat for the NPP. He lost the seat to Mr Samuel Nii Ayi Mankattah of the NDC, who won with 35,634 (52.4 %).

Although the NPP candidate increased his vote from 28,270 in 2000 to 31,546 (46.40%), it was not enough to tilt the scale of victory in his favour.

The other candidate in the race was Isaac Nii Annan M. Offei of the CPP whose share of the votes was 814 (1.20%).

Nii Mankattah, unfortunately, died a year into his term. In a by-election held in August 2005, Jonathan Nii Tackie Comey (NDC) won the seat shrugging off the challenge from Asafoatse Sidney Mankattah of the NPP with 8,377 votes.

Nii Tackie Commey had 26,841( 57.9%); Asafoatse Mankattah polled 18,464 votes (39.8); Christian Shanco-Bruce of the CPP, had 946 votes (2.%) and Nii Issaka Collison-Cofie of the Democratic Freedom Party managed 98 votes (0.2%).

In 2008, Nii Tackie Commey turned out the largest difference in terms of votes in the history of the constituency to retain the seat for the NDC. While Nii Tackie polled 34,182 votes representing 55.67%, the NPP’s Mohammed Adjei Sowah came second with 25,495 votes, representing 41.52 %; Emmanuel Oddoye Jnr of the CPP had 1.15 %; Isaac Adjevor managed 595 votes, representing 0.97%.

Edward Nii Darko Dodoo, who represented the DFP had 309 votes--0.50% with Ali Umar Kuriba placing a distant 6th in the race with 113 votes--0.18 %.

Based on the figures above, the Odododiodio Constituency is certainly for either the NDC or the NPP.

As the candidates for the December 7 elections wind their preparations, the candidate with the smartest supporter mobilisation strategy will carry the day.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Ghana?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +233547385856, Social Media @pulseghana: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email:

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos

Top Articles

1 EC Brouhaha Charlotte Osei sues lawyer for "faceless" petitionersbullet
2 Election 2020 Amissah-Arthur thinking of running for presidentbullet
3 Deputy National Youth Organizer Mr Beautiful campaign posters outbullet
4 EC Brouhaha Accepting new vehicle from govt not a new practice -...bullet
5 Electoral Commissioner Charlotte Osei faces Parliamentbullet
6 Charlotte Osei Why is NDC defending EC boss? - Ayariga asksbullet
7 Late President Mills Atta Mills was my mentor – Mahamabullet
8 Allegations Step aside for investigations - PPP tells EC...bullet
9 NDC Press Conference Obiri Boahen launches scathing...bullet
10 Profile All you need to know about Samira Bawumiabullet

Top Videos

1 Video Chaos erupts in Parliament over bribery reportbullet
2 Watch Gbese Mantse vows to abdicate if Nana Addo winsbullet
3 Agenda 2020 Mahama interacts with former gov't appointeesbullet
4 Election 2016 T.B Joshua in Ghana to subvert election 2016 - Rev....bullet
5 The Gambia Mahama touts achievements to ECOWAS leadersbullet
6 Election 2016 Obinim predicts victory for Nana Addobullet
7 Parliamentary Bribery Saga Opoku Prempeh insulted me – Suhuyinibullet
8 New Government Swearing in of Nana Akufo-Addo and Dr Bawumiabullet
9 Video Tina Mensah beats Obuobia to win Weija-Gbawe...bullet
10 Video What Ghanaians are saying about Agyarko's...bullet