NDC Primaries: New entrants eyeing parliament in 2016

Some new faces in the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have so far displaced some ‘big wigs’ in the party’s parliamentary and presidential primaries.


A new wind of change has blown aside some sitting Members of Parliament, MPs of the National Democratic Congress in the party's parliamentary and presidential primaries on Saturday.

The primaries produced some interesting results, leaving in its wake a number of recorded casualties.

Daughter of former President John Rawlings, Dr Ezanetor Rawlings beat incumbent MP, Nii Armah Ashietey to emerge winner in the hotly contested election.

Dr Rawlings had 2403 votes while Mr Ashitey had 1348 votes.

Popular actor and comedian, Kwame Dzokoto has won the Tarkwa Nsuaem constituency, polling 1415 votes as his closest contender Joseph Otchere polled 402.

Media personality at Accra based Radio Gold, Alhassan Suhuyini has polled 3,433 voters representing 44.69% making him the winner in the Tamale North NDC primaries.

He polled 3,433 votes representing 44.69% while the three-time incumbent MP, Abukari Sumani, secured 1,069 votes representing 13.92% of the votes cast.

Former TV3 Morning Show host, Eric Don- Arthur, has also won his bid to represent the NDC in the Effutu Constituency.

Don Arthur polled 1694 votes as his opponent, Ambrose Entsiwah polled 1262.This makes three, media practitioners seeking a mandate in parliament ahead of the 2016 parliamentary elections.

Brother of late President John Mills, Sam Atta Mills has won the NDC parliamentary primaries of Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem (KEEA) constituency in the Central region.

He polled 3356 votes against his opponents Matthew Kwofie who garnered 684 votes and Francis Asmah who had 420 votes.

Accra Mayor Alfred Oko Vanderpuije has also won the Ablekuma South constituency.The Chief Executive Officer of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly polled 3,298 while his contender Wisdom Nii Amo Dodoo managed 1,259 votes in Saturday's polls.

Mr. Vanderpuije takes over from incumbent Fritz Baffour who decided not to seek re-election.

The Head of Corporate Communications of the Volta River Authority (VRA) Samuel Fletcher has been elected the parliamentary candidate of the National Democratic Congress for the Gomoa West Constituency in the Central region.

Provisional results collated from the 34 polling centers in the constituency put Fletcher at 4,494 votes as against the incumbent Francis Kojo Arthur’s 1,284.

26 year old Joycelyn Tetteh toppled George Loh in the North Dayi constituency of the Volta Region.

She polled 3,037 votes to win the contest while incumbent, George Loh polled 2,207.

Meanwhile, veteran MP E.T Mensah is ready to battle it out with his fierce contender, Sam George in the National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary primaries.The internal poll was suspended on Saturday following allegations of attacks by both camps.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh