Baba Rahman, Issahaku and Afriyie Barnieh dropped by Chris Hughton

Abdul Baba Rahman, Daniel Afriyie Barnieh and Abdul Fatawu Issahaku are among the players who have been dropped from Chris Hughton’s maiden Black Stars squad.

Black Stars: Baba Rahman, Issahaku and Afriyie Barnieh dropped by Chris Hughton

The 64-year-old named a 25-man squad on Thursday as Ghana prepares to face Angola in a double-header Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier.

The squad contains some of the regular faces, including Mohammed Kudus, Thomas Partey and the Ayew brothers, Andre and Jordan.

There is also a return for goalkeeper Jojo Wollacott, who missed the Qatar 2022 World Cup due to a finger injury.


The in-form Joseph Paintsil, Majeed Ashimeru and Edmund Addo have also been invited after being left out of the World Cup squad.

For some players, too, injuries have robbed them of the chance to feature in next week’s AFCON qualifier, with right-back Alidu Seidu and midfielders Elisha Owusu and Daniel-Kofi Kyereh not available due to long-term injuries.

Hughton, though, took the bold decision to drop some players who were regular fixtures in his predecessor Otto Addo’s squad.

The biggest casualty is Reading’s Baba Rahman, who started two games for Ghana in Qatar, but has now been dropped.


Kotoko goalkeeper Danlad Ibrahim, FC Zurich youngster Afriyieh Barnieh and Sporting CP’s Issahaku have also been left out of Hughton’s maiden squad.

See Ghana’s 25-man squad for the double-header AFCON qualifier against Angola below:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic)

Defenders: Tariq Lamptey (Brighton and Hove Albion), Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Mohammed Salisu (Southampton FC), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Abdul Salis Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)


Wingers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), Joseph Painstil (Genk), Kamal Deen Sulemana (Southampton FC), Ransford Yeboah Königsdörffer (Hamburger SV)

Forwards: Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Kamal Sowah (Club Brugge), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Antoine Semenyo (AFC Bournemouth)


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: