13 sacked judges replaced

The Chief Justice Georgina Wood sworn the judges in at a short ceremony in Accra Friday.


Chief Justice, Georgina Theodora Wood, has sworn in 13 Judges to the High Court at a short ceremony, held on Friday July 15, 2016.

The 13 Judges include; Jennifer Anne Myers Ahmed, Kofi Nyanteh Akuffo, Emmanuel Senyo Amedahe, Samuel Asare-Nyarko, and Emmanuel Lodoh.

Related:Anas exposé

The rest are Sedina Agbemava, Rita Agyeman-Badu, Ellen Vivian Amoah, Cecilia Naa Shormeh Davis, Charles Edward Ekow Baiden, Kwasi Anokye Gyimah, Richard Osei-Hwere and Francis Apangabund Achibonga.

The new judges replace those who were removed from office following the Anas exposé on judicial corruption last year.

Read also:Anas Expose'

Supreme Court Judge, Justice Sophia Akuffo urged the new judges to uphold the highest level of integrity since those they are replacing were removed for their lack of integrity.

Vice President of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA), Tony Forson, said the Association will continue to defend the bench at all times.

Deputy Attorney General, Dominic Ayine, also asked the new Judges to be prudent in their public commentaries.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh