5 NDC aspirants disqualified in Greater Accra region

The five NDC aspirants were disqualified on the grounds of contesting independent in the 2012 general elections


Five parliamentary aspirants of the National Democratic Congress in the Greater Accra region have been disqualified.


They are Leeford Nii Kpako Quarshie (Klottey Korle Constituency), Tony Afenyo (Ashaiman Constituency), Michael Kwetey Tetteh (Ningo Prampra), Isaac Awuku (Dome Abra Obom) and Opolu William Kwesi Ahamadzi (Amasama).

They were disqualified on the grounds of contesting independent in the 2012 general elections.

The five aspirants had to be excluded for what the party describes as a breach of its election guidelines.

The party resumed vetting of its parliamentary aspirants in the Greater Accra and Volta regions today ahead of its November 7 polls.

The vetting, which was originally slated for last month, was rescheduled to 6th and 7th October.

About 109 aspirants are expected to be vetted by the panel comprising regional and national executives of the party today.

Out of the total number of candidates from about 34 constituencies, 16 of them are sitting Members of Parliament.

Meanwhile, the party has cleared Dr. Zanetor Rawlings, a daughter of former President Jerry John Rawlings, to contest the Greater Accra regional minister Nii Armah Ashietey in the November 7 parliamentary primaries.

Dr. Zanetor is eyeing the Klottey Korle constituency seat on the ticket of the NDC in the 2016 elections.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: