The NBA on Wednesday denied the Denver Nuggets' protest of a 108-107 loss to the Memphis Grizzlies earlier this month despite an error in judgment by a replay official.

The Nuggets protested that the replay center, which handles all video reviews of on-court issues, incorrectly awarded possession of the ball to the Grizzlies with 0.7 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter of a November 8 game.

That call was made after it was ruled Denver's Emmanuel Mudiay last touched the ball before it went out of bounds and a replay official confirmed the call after reviewing two television camera angles of the play that appeared to show Mudiay touching the ball.

The replay center did not select more angles to review, but after the game, upon NBA review, it was clear from another unreviewed angle that Mudiay did not touch the ball and that possession should have been awarded to Denver.

Even so, the NBA ruled that while the out-of-bounds call was incorrect, it was a judgment error by the replay official and not a misapplication of the playing rules ?- which is required under NBA rules to justify approval of a protest and overturning a game result.

The NBA said it would review the situation from an operational standpoint to examine the review process and reduce the chances of a similar error in the future.