Haruna Iddrisu rejects Collins Dauda's seat in Parliament

Haruna Iddrisu, the former Minority Leader has rejected a seat allocated to him that belongs to his colleague Collins Dauda in Parliament.

Haruna Iddrisu

He refused to take the seat and gave reasons that it belongs to the MP for Asutifi South, Collins Dauda who is his senior in Parliament.

He said "Mr. Speaker, forgive me that I have to assume your chair, there was whether I should take over from or yours and I have told them that honourable Collins Dauda is senior by age and a senior even to this house. So, I will not fit into his chair as somebody who is well-trained from home."

He further stated that "So, any other chair Mr. speaker acceptable to me, I am still the elected member of parliament for Tamale South."

But former Deputy Majority Leader James Klutse Avedzi has accepted the seat of his successor Armah Kofi Buah.


Earlier, the former Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak also accepted the reshuffle of the front bench of the NDC.

The Asawase MP who was unhappy with the decision said he has accepted it in the interest of the party.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: