PPP advocates for Electronic Voting system

General Secretary of the PPP, Kofi Asamoah Siaw was speaking at the Stakeholders Forum on the Voters' Register organised by the Electoral Commission


The Progressive People’s Party PPP has said Ghana must acquire and operate a full electronic voting system for a free and fair 2016 general elections

Speaking at the Stakeholders Forum on the Voters' Register organised by the Electoral Commission, the General Secretary of the PPP, Kofi Asamoah Siaw, insisted an "e-voting system will guarantee easy verification of voters."

He further said the system will help overcome the flaws of over voting, ballot stuffing, collation errors, rejected ballot, and cost of army of polling agents.

The General Secretary of the PPP also called on the EC to establish a system that will ensure that political party results are independent of polling agents.

A five-member panel set up by the Electoral Commission will conduct the public hearings over the next two days.

Political parties and civil society groups which have sent proposals to the EC over the demand for a new register are expected to appear before the panel to justify their positions.

RELATED: EC forum New voters' register is not remedy for peaceful elections - Asiedu NketiaOthers against the call for a new register would make their case why the current register must be maintained.

Chairman of the five-member panel, His Lordship Professor V.C.R.A.C. Crabbe has said the voter register is not the responsibility of the EC.

He further assured members at the forum that their views will be heard and the report be submitted to the EC.

"The final decision does not lie with us," he added.

The Panel is made up of His Lordship Professor V.C.R.A.C. Crabbe, Co-Chair of the Coalition for Domestic Election Observers, (CODEO), former Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana, former Professor of Law, and former Electoral Commissioner of Ghana; Most Reverend Professor Emmanuel Asante, former Presiding Bishop of the Methodist Church of Ghana and Chairman of the National Peace Council.The rest are Dr. Grace Bediako, a former Government Statistician and former member of the National Development Planning Commission; Dr. Nii Narku Quaynor, a renowned computer scientist, Chairman of the National Information Technology Agency (NITA) Board of Directors, and President of the Internet Society of Ghana; and Maulvi Bin Salih, Ameer of the Ahmadiyya Mission of Ghana.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh