The FIFA World Cup has never witnessed a former champion win the Mundial on a year which ends with eight (8).

Belgium and Croatia have the chance to secure the places in the final of the FIFA World Cup for the very first time if they manage to topple France and England respectively.

Lovers of superstition and numbers backing them to victory since the FIFA World Cup always get a first time winners in any year that ended with the number 8.

England and France per this record have been ruled out of the competition because they won the Mundial in 1966 and 1998, respectively.

READ MORE: This is why Cristiano Ronaldo wears long sleeves jersey

The best finish for Belgium is a fourth place and that of Croatia is a third place finish.

Below is the stats

Brazil won their first title in 1958

Argentina won their first World Cup title in 1978

France won their first Mundial in 1998.

The sequence is expected to follow in 2018