Uhuru Kenyatta declared winner of Kenyan election

President Uhuru Kenyatta has re-tained his seat for another five-year term.


The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission(IEBC) has declared President Uhuru Kenyatta the winner of the highly-contested Kenyan election.

While making the announcement at the Bomas of Kenya, IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati said that Uhuru won the presidential election after garnering 8,203,290 votes (54.27%) against his arch-rival and National Super Alliance presidential candidate Raila Odinga who got 6,762,224(44.74%)

"Having fulfilled the requirements of the law, I wish to declare Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta as the president-elect and Hon. William Ruto as the deputy president elect of Kenya," Chebukati said shortly after 10pm.

Uhuru met the 50+1 threshold of the total votes cast and at least 25% of votes in 24 counties.


Nearly 80% of the 19 million registered voters cast their ballots in an election Mr. Chebukati described as "credible, fair and peaceful."


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh