Check Out All Versions of Google's OS since 2011

Each version of Android since 1.5 has been developed with a specific codename. These codenames are chosen alphabetically, and have thus far all been dessert items (or, generically, sweet/sugary foods).

There is no mistaking Google's love for food with the way the tech company names its entire Android OS versions after foods.

These Android versions are called "codenames" which are mostly used rather than their version numbers (e.g . Android "Gingerbread").

You may wonder what are the names of the various versions of the Android OS, and how are these names chosen?

Some codenames are associated with more than one version number, while others are limited to only a specific one, and the reason for this inconsistency is not currently known.

The naming typically appears to correspond to changes in the developer API levels, but this is not always true (example: 3.0 and 3.1 are both "Honeycomb" but they have different API levels).

The following names are used for the currently existing Android releases. Note that versions 1.0 and 1.1 were not publicly named.

  • Cupcake: Android 1.5
  • Donut: Android 1.6
  • Eclair: Android 2.0; Android 2.1
  • Froyo (short for "frozen yogurt"): Android 2.2
  • Gingerbread: Android 2.3
  • Honeycomb: Android 3.0; Android 3.1; Android 3.2
  • Ice Cream Sandwich: Android 4.0
  • Jelly Bean: Android 4.1; Android 4.2; Android 4.3
  • KitKat: Android 4.4
  • Lolipop: Android 5.0

The 1.1 version was internally called "Petit Four" by Google, and that's how it all began. Google installs a giant pastry on their lawn at Mountain View each time a new version is about to be launched.

You can see pictures of that display at different stages here:


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: