Over 20 suburbs of Accra to go without water today - GWCL announces

The affected areas include Kasoa, Weija, Gbawe, Malam, New and Old Bortianor, Dansoman, Mamprobi, Korle-Bu, Awudome Estates and Kwashiman.


The GWCL said supply to some communities will be interrupted between 8:00am and 5:00pm due to the shutdown of the plant.

READ ALSO:  Parliament defers drone technology agreementParliament defers drone technology agreement

Other affected areas are Anyaa, Tesano, Abeka, Sowutuom, North Kaneshie, Kaneshie , Odorkor, Dakuman, Santamaria.

In a statement, the Water Company said it regrets any inconvenience that will be caused, but assured that “supply will be restored as soon as the work is completed”.

READ ALSO: GRA to begin taxing churches on anointing oil and holy waterGRA to begin taxing churches on anointing oil and holy water

Residents in Accra often get their water supply from the Weija plant, which produces an average of 120,000 cubic meters of water per day.

Get our Top Stories delivered to your inbox

Welcome to the Pulse Community! We will now be sending you a daily newsletter on news, entertainment and more. Also join us across all of our other channels - we love to be connected!

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh