40 former MPs drag govt to court over pension pay

The suit filed at the Labour Division of the Accra High Court, the 40 former MPs are collectively demanding GH¢9,339,800 from the government.

The former MPs who served under the Kufuor administration sued the Attorney-General and the Ministry of Finance over pensions owed them.

The amount being claimed by the former legislators amount to GH₵13,735 each per month, but interest accrued over the 85 months since January 2009.

Among the 40 former MPs who took the legal action are Yaw Osafo-Maafo, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Dr Kwame Ampofo, acting Chaiman on the NPP Freddie Blay, Kwamena Bartels, Mr Kenneth Dzirasah, Ms Christine Churcher, Mr Isaac E. Edumadze and Mr Nkrabea Effah-Darteh.

The former MPs suit follows the Chinnery-Hesse Presidential Emoluments Committee report (PEC) which provides that parliamentarians who were 50 years and above and exited Parliament, having served two full terms, should be paid some sums of money as pension benefits.

The disgruntled former legislators in their writ said since 2011, negotiations with government have been futile.

They said the conduct of the government showed that unless compelled by the courts, it was not ready to pay the pensions they are entitled.

Below is the full list of the former MPs

1. David Apasera

2. Dr. Charles Brempong-Yeboah

3. Francis Aggrey Agbotese

4. Nii Adu Daku Mante

5. Kwame Adusa Okerchiri

6. Godfred Otchere

7. Moses Dani Baah

8. K. Brandford Adu

9. Victor Okuley Nortey

10. Yaw Barimah

11. Kwadwo Darko Adjei

12. Samuel Gyamfi Adu

13. Joseph Tsatsu Agbenu

14. Eugene Atta Agyapong

15. Abraham Osei Aidoo

16. Dr. Kwame Ampofo

17. Dr. Matthew Kwaku Antwi

18. Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku

19. Yaw Mensah Asiedu

20. Angela Baiden-Amissah

21. Kwamena Bartels

22. Freddie W.A. Blay

23. Sampson Boafo

24. Chrisitne Churcher

25. Kenneth Dzirasah

26. Isaac E. Edumadze

27. Nkrabea Effah Dartey

28. Kwame Owusu Frimpong

29. Kitson Akomeng Kissi

30. Joseph Henry Mensah

31. Mrs Anna Nyamakye

32. Albert Kwaku Obbin

33. Yaw Osafo-Maafo

34. Francis Mensah Osafo

35. Akwasi Adjei Osei

36. K. Owusu Adjapong

37. K. Opoku Adusei

38. Quarm Sam

39. Alex Sofo Seidu

40. Alhassa Malik Yakubu

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh