A new feature has been included on the image sharing app Instagram, which informs users about the online activity of others.

Just like the WhatsApp feature, it is known as 'Last Active' and it reveals the last time your friend was on Instagram. This new feature was quietly sneaked in during the latest update.

Many people have tweeted their dissatisfaction over the new innovation now available on Android and iOS. They consider it a deprivation of privacy or even an embarrassment.

[No available link text]

[No available link text]

The feature can be found below Instagram direct messages you have been chatting with. Just like on WhatsApp or Facebook messenger reveals the minute or hours your friend last used the app. It feels like you are being monitored.

ALSO READ: Instagram is currently testing a standalone messaging app

There is no need to worry though, because this feature can be turned off.

Users can visit their profile where they will be able to access the app settings on the top-right corner or the three dots. Once on the page, scroll down to the last menu on the list which should display "show activity status".

Once you toggle off, you will not be able to view other users online status and neither will you have access to theirs.