Togbe Afede XIV, the Agbogbomefia of the Asogli State in the Volta Region, has been elected as the new president of the National House of Chiefs.

He polled 25 votes while his competitors, Awulae Attibrukusu of Lower Axim in the Western Region, got 11, Okyehene Osagyefo Amoatia Ofori Panin had 10 votes, and Nana Kobina Nketsia V, the Omanhen of Essikado Traditional Area, gathered 3 votes.

READ ALSO: Stop calling Volta region your 'world bank' – Togbe Afede to NDC

Three other chiefs filed their nominations to contest the vice-presidency of the house.

After the Vice – presidential elections, Dasebre Kwaku Ewusi the VII of Aboadzi won the majority votes of 28, Lawra Naa Puowele Karbo polled 13 and Okatakyie Dr Amenfi VII of Asiebu managed 8.

A total of 49 voted were cast out of the 50 eligible voters.

Togbe Afede, who is a business mogul, was also the immediate past president of the Volta region House of Chiefs.