The New Patriotic Party (NPP) side of parliament which will form the Majority in the next parliament will be led by Member of Parliament (MP) for Suame in the Ashanti Region, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu.

Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has been the leader of the NPP in parliament through the party's eight years as the minority.

He is expected to be assisted by MP for Dome-Kwabenya in the Greater Accra Region, Sarah Adwoa Safo.

READ ALSO: Opare's appointment is a 'plus for women' but... - Gender Activist

Many have since expressed joy at the choice of a female for the deputy minority leader position.

Meanwhile, Minister of Employment and Labour Relations and Member of Parliament for Tamale South, Haruna Iddrisu has been nominated as the minority leader on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in parliament, with Klutse Avedzi being the Deputy Minority Leader.

The Sunyani East MP, Kwasi Ameyaw Kyeremeh is also expected to be Majority Chief Whip of the seventh parliament.

The NPP also settled on Joseph Osei-Owusu as the 1st Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Professor Mike Aaron Oquaye has also been confirmed as Speaker of the Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic.