Zidane to battle former teammate Deschamps for coach of the Year

FIFA has shortlisted 11 people for the coach of the year

The FIFA flagship awards gala dubbed 'The Best' will see 11 coaches vie for the ultimate crown for the tactician of the year under review, but it is expected to be a fight of the French on the night.

Didier Deschamps who captained Zidane when France won the 1998 FIFA World Cup has also led Allez Les Blues to their second FIFA World Cup triumph in Russia 2018, while Zidane also made history as the first coach to win three European Cups on the trot, after guiding Real Madrid to an unprecedented run since the competition was rechristened as the UEFA Champions League.

The erstwhile Real Madrid coach was adjudged the coach of the year last term, following a La Liga and UEFA Champions League double.

Zidane and Deschamps have several things in common. Aside playing together at France, they were also teammates at Juventus FC.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Massimiliano Allegri

Stanislav Cherchesov

Zlatko Dalic

Didier Deschamps

Pep Guardiola

Jurgen Klopp

Roberto Martinez

Diego Simeone

Gareth Southgate

Ernesto Valverde

Zinedine Zidane


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh