The award organised by the French Football Magazine has gone through different phases since 1956.

READ MORE: Lionel Messi wins 2019 Ballon d'Or

From 1956 to 1994 only European players plying their trade in Europe were eligible for the award, but the format was changed to include non-Europeans. George Oppong-Weah from Liberia became the first non-European to be crowned winner of the Ballon d’or in a year that saw him win the FIFA Player of the Year and the African Footballer of the Year as well.

Then in 2007, any player in the world became eligible. From 2009 until 2015 the award was merged with the FIFA player of the year to create the FIFA Ballon d'Or.

In 2016, France Football announced that their partnership with FIFA had come to an end and that they would revive the Ballon d'Or award, the 2019 edition became the 64th award.

Lionel Messi won the 2019 edition of the Ballon d'Or, making him the most successful player in the award's history- six haul.

Below is the full list of past winners

year player Nationality club

2019 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid

2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid

2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid

2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid

2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid

2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United

2007 Kaká Brazil Milan

2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid

2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona

2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukrain Milan

2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czech Republic Juventus

2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid

2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool

2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid

1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona

1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus

1997 Ronaldo Brazil Internazionale

1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund

1995 George Weah Liberia Milan

1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona

1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus

1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan

1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille

1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale

1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan

1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan

1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan

1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv

1985 Michel Platini France Juventus

1984 Michel Platini France Juventus

1983 Michel Platini France Juventus

1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus

1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich

1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich

1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg

1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg

1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach

1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich

1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv

1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona

1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona

1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich

1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax

1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich

1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan

1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United

1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC

1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United

1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica

1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United

1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow

1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague

1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus

1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona

1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid

1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid

1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid

1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool