Sri Lanka Twenty20 International captain Lasith Malinga has been left out of the squad for the three-game series against India in February due to injury, while Dilhara Fernando has been recalled.

Malinga was ruled out of Sri Lanka's tour of New Zealand after sustaining a knee injury in December, missing the 3-1 one-day international defeat and the 2-0 T20 loss.

The fast bowler has been rested for the series against India, which begins in Pune on February 9, with one eye likely on the Asia Cup which begins in February and the World Twenty20 the following month.

After captaining the side in the limited-overs matches in New Zealand, Dinesh Chandimal will continue as captain.

However, all-rounder Angelo Matthews – Test and ODI skipper – misses out through a groin problem.

Dilhara Fernando makes a surprise return to the squad having not featured for Sri Lanka since 2012, while his last T20I appearance came in 2011.

The 36-year-old had been playing for the Kandy Crusaders in the Super T20 Provincial Tournament before his selection.

Nuwan Kulasekera, Rangana Herath and Nuwan Pradeep are also absent due to injuries.

Sri Lanka T20 squad in full: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Seekkuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Chameera Dushmantha, Dilhara Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Binura Fernando, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay.