EC opens nominations for Ayawaso-West Wuogon by-election

The Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC) has opened nominations for its by-election in the Ayawaso-West Wuogon Constituency.

Jean Mensa, EC chairperson

The nomination of the aspirants was opened on he 10th of January and it is expected to end on Saturday, January 12.

Explaining the process of the nominations, the EC Chairperson Jean Mensa, said the nomination for each candidate shall be witnessed by the signature of two registered voters, as proposer and seconder and supported by 18 other registered voters in the Constituency as assenting to the nomination.

The statement by Jean Mensa also said the nomination form shall be endorsed with the candidate’s consent.

"The candidate shall, at the time of submitting the nomination, provide the Returning Officer with two copies of a recent post card size photograph taken against a red background, adding that the photograph should reveal the full face and ears of the candidate", it added.


The Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election is expected to be keenly contested between Madam Lydia Seyram Alhassan of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and Delali Kwesi Brempong of the National Democratic Congress.

The by-election is scheduled for Thursday, January 31, 2019 following the death of the MP, Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: