Parliamentary giants who have lost their seats

Notable among them is the incumbent Member of Parliament for Madina-Abokobi, Amadu Sorogho, Baba Jamal, Sena Okity Duah, Hannah Tetteh, Paul Evans Aidoo etc.

Notable among them is the incumbent Member of Parliament for Madina-Abokobi, Amadu Sorogho.

He lost to the New Patriotic Party’s Boniface Saddiqe who polled 57.97 percent of the total votes cast in that constituency as Sorogho polled 39.88 percent.

Hannah Tetteh, who doubles as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Awutu Senya West constituency lost to George Andah.


Hannah Tetteh polled 25,664 votes as against 28,867 votes garnered by George Andah, contesting on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Member of Parliament (MP) for Akwatia constituency in the Eastern region, Baba Jamal, has lost his parliamentary seat to Ama Sey in the Akwatia Constituency.

Madam Sey, a beautician, polled 21,433 votes to beat Mr Jamal's 15,905 votes, according to provisional results.

The parliamentary candidate for the Ekumfi constituency on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Central Region, Ato Cudjoe has won the seat according to provisional election results from the EC.

Ato Cudjoe polled 12,014 valid votes to beat the incumbent Abeiku Crentsil of the NDC who polled 11,482.


The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary candidate, George Oduro in the New Edubiase constituency has won the seat for the party in the Ashanti region.

He beat the incumbent Parliamentary candidate of the National Democratic Congress, Mr Ernest Kofi Yakah.

Member of Parliament for Ledzokuku Constituency in the Greater Accra Region, Sena Okity Duah is projected to lose to Dr. Okoe Boye in the parliamentary race according to provisional figures.

Okoe Boye polled 45,259 votes as against 43,092 votes recorded by Mrs. Okity-Duah.

Dr Kweku Owusu Afriyie in the erstwhile Kufuor administration of the NPP won former Western regional minister, Paul Evans Aidoo in the Sefwi-Wiawso constituency.


Mr Aidoo has been successful in all three previous contests in 2004, 2008 and 2012, but Dr Afriyie ended his parliamentary ambition.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: