The leaked list is without experienced duo Sulley Muntari and Kevin-Prince Boateng, despite calls from several Ghanaians for them to be handed a place.

READ MORE: Tony Yeboah, Didier Drogba & 8 African players who won the top scorers in the top five European leagues

Calls for Muntari and Boateng’s recall to the Black Stars resurfaced after the president of the Normalisation Committee Dr Kofi Amoah in an interview revealed that the former Udinese midfielder has appealed to him that he would be pleased to be part of Kwesi Appiah’s men for the continental showpiece.

However, the names of Sulley Ali Muntari and Kevin-Prince Boateng are missing from the leaked 30-man provisional squad of the Black Stars for the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) according to

But the skipper of the Black Stars Asamoah Gyan who has been inconsistent this season due to injuries is in the squad. Gyan over the weekend made the headlines after he scored twice to save Kayserispor from relegation.

Asamoah Gyan
Asamoah Gyan

Meanwhile, three local based players namely Asante Kotoko duo of Felix Annan and Abdul Fatawu Safiu, as well as Hearts of Oak star Fatawu Mohammed, were included.

It has been reported that James Kwesi Appiah is required to announce his provisional squad for the AFCON by 20th May 2019.

Below is the full list:


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko) Fatau Dauda (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Andy Yiadom (Reading FC) Fatawu Mohammed (Hearts) Baba Rahman (Stade Reims) Lumor Agbeyenu (Goztepe) Kassim Adam (TSG Hoffenheim) Joseph Aidoo (KRC Genk) Isaac Donkor (Universitatea Craiova) Musah Nuhu (St. Gallen) John Boye (FC Metz)

Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves) Rahman Chibsah (Frosinone Calcio) Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) Osman Bukari (AS Tren?ín) Abdul Fatwau Safiu (Asante Kotoko) Andre Dede Ayew (Fenerbahcé) Christian Atsu (Newcastle United) Majeed Ashmeru (St. Gallen) Joseph Paintsil (GRC Genk)

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace) Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor) Majeed Waris (FC Nantes) Caleb Ekuban (Trapzonspor) Richmond Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade) John Antwi (Msr El Makasa) Kwabena Owusu (Salamanca) Bernard Terkpetey (Paderborn) Dauda Mohammed (Vitesse Arnhem)