Amartey went down too easily for the penalty against South Africa - Asamoah Gyan

Former Black Stars skipper Asamoah Gyan has waded into the controversial penalty Ghana got against South Africa in the 2022 World Cup qualifiers.

‘I’ve paid my dues’ – Asamoah Gyan ready to become CAF ambassador

According to the striker, he saw the penalty as soft.

He, however, stated that the referee was closer to the action so he gets the benefit of the doubt.

Speaking on Asempa FM in Accra, he said from what he saw initially, Daniel Amartey went down casually.

“I think the incident was a bit casual,” Gyan is reported by Ghanasoccernet.com to have said.

“From where I sit and how I saw it, I think Daniel Amartey went down too easily but the referee was closer to the spot and probably had a better view of the situation.

“Remember the tempo of the game also could have influenced the referee’s decision to award the spot-kick,” he added.

Andre Ayew converted the resultant spot-kick brilliantly to secure a 1-0 win that confirmed Ghana’s place in the final qualifying round for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar earlier this month.

JOIN OUR PULSE COMMUNITY!

Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh