According to Myjoyonline, about 3,700 members of the Ghana Music Rights Organization (GHAMRO) voted Wednesday to elect new board members for the music rights body.

Registered members of the organization are converging in Accra, Kumasi and Tamale to elect persons who will steer GHAMRO from its troubled waters.

GHAMRO has for more than a year now been bedevilled by a series of controversies forcing the Human Rights Court in July 2014 to order the board led by Carlos Sakyi to step aside.  In all, 18 persons are vying for various positions in GHAMRO including Chairman, Deputy Chairman, and Board Members. Highlife great, Kojo Antwi is vying for the Chairmanship position. He is unopposed.

Some of the well-known figures at the elections include Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA) president Bice Osei Kuffour (Obour), Ben Brako, Diana Hopeson, Randy Noonoo, and Nana Kwaku Duah (Tic Tac).

Interim Administrator of the GHMARO board, Abraham Nuetey Adjatey (Agya Abraham) has told that elections, which took at the Catholic Institute of Business and Technology (CIBT closed at 3pm.

They hope to hand over to a newly elected board member soon after the elections. There is currently a heavy police and military presence at the venue of the elections which is being conducted by the Electoral Commission (EC).