Fresh shake-up hits Ghana prisons service

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in consultation with the Ghana Prisons Service Council, has approved the promotion of 44 superior officers of the Ghana Prisons Service (GPS) with effect from December 1, 2018.

Prisons bosses

Pursuant to Article 207(3) of the 1992 Constitution, two senior officers- Sylvester Kojo Badu Rabbles, Director of Prisons in charge of Operations and Agriculture and Mrs. Josephine Fredua-Agyeman, Director of Prisons in charge of Welfare have been promoted to the posts of Deputy Director-General in charge of Operations and Deputy Director-General in charge of Administration, respectively. 

A statement issued in Accra by the Chief Public Relations Officer of the GPS, Vitalis A-iyeh and copied to said Nana Addo has also promoted two deputy directors; Isaac Kofi Egyir, the Eastern Regional Prisons Commander and Nelson Basubinin Duut, the Ashanti Regional Prisons Commander to Director of Prisons.

The statement mentioned the following persons as being promoted from the rank of ADP to the rank of Deputy Director of Prisons (DDP).

They are:

  1. ADP. Godwin Mawuena K. Hoenyedzi
  2. ADP. Hanson Kwame Adu-Awuku
  3. ADP. Samuel Adjei-Attah
  4. ADP. Andrews K. Dzokoto
  5. ADP. Francis Omane-Addo
  6. ADP. Gloria Essandoh
  7. ADP. Samuel Sapak Zoogah
  8. ADP. Christopher Nyamedi
  9. ADP. Benedict Bob-Dery
  10. ADP. Samuel Akolbire
  11. ADP. Edward Fiifi Acquah
  12. ADP. Joana Fofo Tackie-Otoo (Mrs.)
  13. ADP. Kwaku Agyeman-Duah
  14. ADP. Abraham Nii Moi Allotey

Chief Superintendent of Prisons (CSP) to Assistant Director of Prisons

  1. CSP Gershon Tetteh
  2. CSP James Teye Tetteh
  3. CSP Millicent Owusu
  4. CSP Hagbe Francis Selorm
  5. CSP Paul TeyeAdeman
  6. CSP Edmund AhiaArmah
  7. CSP Nathaniel N. Agyeman Onyinah
  8. CSP Sophia Osei-Bonsu
  9. CSP Otsyokpo Thompson
  10. CSP Eric Ainoo Ansah
  11. CSP Edward Ashun
  12. CSP Joseph Asabre
  13. CSP Peter AfariMintah
  14. CSP Thomas Nabila Mahama
  15. CSP IssakuYahaya
  16. CSP Alfred M. Codjoe
  17. CSP Obed Kofi Acquaye
  18. CSP Augustine Ohene-Tutu
  19. CSP Wilson K. Sallah
  20. CSP Samuel FiifiDontoh
  21. CSP Joseph Nyankey
  22. CSP Alhaji Ousmane Tasembedo
  23. CSP Augustine Adu
  24. CSP Sampson K. Gunu
  25. CSP Christiana A. Asiedu (Mrs)
  26. CSP Vincent Asare
  27. CSP Christopher Hayibor
  28. CSP Francis MwintumahYelpuo


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: