Here are the final 5 flagbearer aspirants of the NDC

However, despite all the hue and cry, by the close of business day yesterday, five of the aspirants picked their nomination forms to beat the deadline.

NDC Presidential aspirants

Since the party announced the fees for the nomination and filing for the contest, there has been a lot of brouhaha from half of the aspirants.

They contend that the filing fee of GHS 400,000 is too much and drifts away from the principles on which the NDC was formed.

The aspirants, led by the 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, have even threatened to go to court if their petition against the 'ridiculous' filing fee isn't dealt with by the council of elders of the party.


Below are the final five, barring any last minute decision, that will contest to lead the NDC into the 2020 general elections.

1. John Mahama: Considered as the leading contender in the race, former President Mahama picked his form on the first day of nominations. His form was picked and paid by some constituency executives of Asawaase in the Ashanti Region.

2. Professor Joshua Alabi: Despite his campaign team describing the filing fee as absurd, Professor Alabi went ahead and picked his nomination form yesterday.


3. Sylvester Mensah: The former National Health Insurance boss Sylvester Mensah has also picked his nomination form. It was done on his behalf by some constituency executives from La Dadekotopon.

4. Stephen Atubiga: Considered as a dark horse in the race, Stephen Aubiga's ability to pick up the form comes as a surprise to a lot of political commentators.


5. Alban Bagbin: Surprising among the aspirants that were able to beat the deadline is Alban Bagbin. The MP from Nadowli has been at the forefront in the fight against the leadership of the party for the 'ridiculous' filing fee. However, some members of his constituency were able to beat the party deadline yesterday and pick up a form on his behalf.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: