Gov't to post 2,200 workers to new regions - Dan Botwe

The Minister of Regional Reorganisation and Development, Dan Botwe has disclosed that government will post 2,200 workers to the six newly created regions.

Dan Botwe

He said 100 of the most experienced workers at the Ministry of Local Government will be posted to each of these regions.

Dan Botwe revealed this when he led a team of government officials, including the Volta Regional Minister, Dr Archibald Yao Letsa and Dr Nana Ato Arthur, Head of Local Government Service, to inspect infrastructure earmarked for offices and bungalows for the Oti Regional Coordinating Council and residency for the minister.

The Minister also said government has allocated GHS 20m for each new region to help accelerate development.


For his part, the Head of Local Government Service, Dr Ato Arthur, said the service would build the capacity of staff members to ensure that the delivery of public service was enhanced.

On Wednesday, February 13, Nana Addo publicly presented the Constitutional Instrument on the creation of the six newly created regions when he hosted delegations of chiefs from the new regions.

The new regions are: Bono East, Oti, Western North, Savannah, North East and Ahafo.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: