Tain Youth bark at EC

The youth of Tain feel unfairly stereotyped by the Electoral Commission


The Electoral Commission published a list of 81 constituencies which consist of a number of flash points out of the 275, on September 23.

Chairperson of the EC, Mrs. Charlotte Osei, who made this known noted that the Commission is working with together with the Ghana Police Service to map out all the polling stations in the country, especially those in the flash points, to ensure adequate security at all polling centers and the EC’s regional offices.

But spokespersons for the youth of Tain have stated in a statement that the area “has never seen any election-related violence ever, so this tagging has raised worrying brows to us the youth and the entire people of the district, for the peace of our constituency being downgraded to a potential trouble area."

“This phenomenon sees us, the youth of Tain constituency especially, as lawless and violent, which in fact is a frivolous and unfounded claim by the EC.”

The statement which was co-signed by Yaw Seth and Mensah Kwadwo noted that: “We are, however, aware of some electoral fraud that was perpetrated in the constituency in the 2008 and 2012 elections, yet none of these resulted in violence. So, why this time? We are calling on the [chair of the] Electoral Commission to come out again and tell us the criteria she used in selecting and branding Tain as a violent constituency. We have been able to promote peace in the eyes of the EC, while lacking electoral justice in our area.”

The statement added: “Tagging our constituency as violent, we believe, will subsequently, unreasonably and unjustifiably, retard development in our area, which we totally disagree [with], and, therefore, refute. We are, hereby, believing that the EC is trying to use the police to intimidate and cow us so that the NDC can easily commit electoral fraud during the 2016 elections and, thereby, traduce that as violence-free and uphold that to the best of peace. Once again, we are calling on the Electoral Commission to come out clear on this so as to remove the fear and panic it has brought on the good people of Tain.”


A list of 81 constituencies which consist of a number of flash points out of the 275 have been published by the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana.

The list is expected to help manage potential violence which could mar the December 7 elections.

Chairperson of the commission, Mrs. Charlotte Osei earlier announced that the Commission has linked up with security agencies to address the 81 constituencies to ensure violence-free elections.

Below is the full list of the 81 constituencies:



(1) Lawra Lawra

(2) Jirapa Jirapa

(3) Wa Central Wa


(4) Builsa South Sandema

(5) Navrongo Central Navrongo

(6) Bolgatanga Central Bolgatanga

(7) Zebilla Zebilla

(8) Bawku Central Bawku


(9) Walewale Walewale

(10) Gushegu Gushegu

(11) Tolon Tolon

(12) Sagnarigu North (Tamale North) Sagnarigu

(13) Tamale Central Bug-Lanfong

(14) Tamale South Lamashegu

(16) Sagnarigu East Kalpohini

(17) Yendi Yendi

(18) Bimbilla Bimbilla

(19) Wulensi Wulensi

(20) Salaga North Kpalbe

(21) Salaga South Salaga


(22) Tain Nsawkaw

(23) Berekum West Jinijini

(24) Berekum East Berekum

(25) Techiman South Tuobodom

(26) Atebubu/Amantia Atebubu

(27) Sene West Kwame Danso

(28) Sene East Kajeji


(29) Ahafo Ano North Tepa

(30) Offinso South Offinso

(31) Mampong Mampong

(32) Kumawu Kumawu

(33) Bantama Bantama

(34) Nhyiaeso Nhyiaeso

(35) Manhyia North Buokrom

(36) Manhyia South Manhyia

(37) Suame Suame

(38) Oforikrom Oforikrom

(39) Asokwa Asokwa

(40) Asawase Asawase

(41) Ash Akim Central Konongo

(42) New Edubiase New Edubiase


(43) Nkawkaw Nkawkaw

(44) Akwatia Akwatia

(45) Suhum Suhum

(46) New Juaben North Effiduase

(47) New Juaben South Koforidua

(48) Akwapim South Aburi


(49) Nkwanta South Nkwanta

(50) Hohoe Hohoe

(51) Ho Central Ho

(52) Adaklu

(53) Keku South Denu


(54) Ningo-Prampram Prampram

(55) Tema Central Tema Comm.4

(56) Tema West Tema Comm.2

(57) Ashaiman Ashaiman

(58) Madina Madina

(59) Amasaman Amasaman

(60) Ayawaso East Nima

(61) Ayawaso Central Kokomlemle

(62) Okaikwei Central Abeka

(63) Ablekuma West Dansoman

(64) Odododiodio James Town

(65) Weija Gbawe New Weija


(66) Awutu Senya East Kasoa

(67) Awutu Senya West Awutu Breku

(68) Assin Central Assin Foso

(69) Assin South Nsuaem-Kyekyewere

(70) Mfantseman Saltpond

(71) Cape Coast South Cape Coast

(72) Cape Coast North Abura


(73) Shama Shama

(74) Takoradi Takoradi

(75) Kwesimintim Kwesimintsim

(76) Sekondi Sekondi

(77) Tarkwa-Nsuaem Tarkwa

(78) Prestea Huni Valley Prestea

(79) Jomoro Half Assini

(80) Sefwi Wiawso Wiawso

(81) Bia West Essam


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.com.gh